I Should Have Seen the Signs

Wednesday is my regularly scheduled sewing sewing day with my friend Rhonda. We didn’t do it last week because she took her husband’s grandma to Bend. So I started cutting out fabric for this week’s project. This week she was sick, her son was sick, she didn’t come. But I sewed on without her.

And I should have seen the signs and stopped sewing. But no. I kept trucking on. And this happened.

Stuck

I’ve never had this happen before. The fabric on the bottom went under the plate thingy on my machine and then came up where the bobbin thread comes up. I had to unscrew the plate and rip out stitches. Ugh.

The pattern I was trying to follow is the Yellow Brick Road by Atkinson Designs. I’ve made a quilt using this pattern once before, like about 15 months ago (in fact, it was the first quilt I ever attempted). It was easy and I liked how it turned out. Well, today, I had big issues. I didn’t read the directions very well (I guess I thought that since I’ve done it before I didn’t need to pay close attention to directions). I so messed up! Once I realized I messed up it was beyond fixable because I had sewn and cut and…ugh! I managed to salvage my mistake. But in the end I had three different blocks and only one of them was actually from the pattern.

ย Here’s a sneak peek. I actually got a lot done on it today. It won’t take long to finish it up.

sneak peek

Added to all this I had Sai home sick from school. Last night he got stomach cramps and the added need to run to the toilet. At one point he passed gas and instead of his usual giggle he made this face and said “I think I pooped.” Yeah. Not pleasant. So I kept him home so he wouldn’t have an accident at school. When I called the school this morning they said that it has been going around. I’m pretty sure he got it from a kid in his class because yesterday when I dropped Sai off we saw this kid running to the bathroom clutching his tummy. I asked him if he was OK and he said that his tummy hurt and he needed to go to the bathroom. If only that mom had kept her kid home!!!

4 Responses to “I Should Have Seen the Signs”


  1. 1 Wende February 20, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Ooh… love the colors.

    I’m sorry that Sai is sick. Poor BW has had that very virus a couple of time–courtesy of his Tae Kwon Do peers. After the last bout, he decided he was going to drop the class until after cold and flu season. We have always kept our kid home when he’s sick, but alas, that doesn’t seem to be the case around here. We’re feeling your pain. Hope he’s better really soon.

    Oh, and Blackberry juice (start with just a Teaspoon ever 2 hours) works wonders on this. ๐Ÿ˜€ ~W
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I love the colors too.

    Sai’s sickness didn’t last long. In fact, he probably could have gone to school but I just wanted to be sure. There’s been so much yuckiness going around. I’ll have to try Blackberry juice next time–if he’ll try it. He’s not adventurous in his food/drink.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Irene February 20, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Wow- looks like a great quilt! Are you machine quilting those squares? It looks REALLY nice.
    We just got the tummy thing this week too. And I’m totally with you. Kids need to stay home when they’re sick.
    ~~~~
    The blanket is from the fat quarters I bought when we met up in Sisters. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m not doing a traditional quilt and I am machine quilting the squares. Thanks!

    You know, I think some parents treat school as day care. They can’t take time off work to take care of their kids so they go ahead and send them to school. When I went to Sai’s holiday party there were some pretty sick kids there and I was just shocked that parents would send their kids like that. Have some concern for the other students!!!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 kat February 21, 2008 at 6:05 am

    your quilt looks just lovely! Congrats on how much you have done. I hope you are feeling well.

    I totally agree with you, if your kid is sick, even a bit, keep him/her home ๐Ÿ™‚
    ~~~~
    Thanks! The blanket is turning out nicely, I think.
    -Kathy

  4. 4 lera February 24, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I have never seen fabric go under the plate like that. Wow!

    I hope your little guy is better. I don’t understand why parents send their child to school sick. Our school specifically tells us not to send them unless they are fever free for 24 hours and not to send if they have diarrhea because they are probably contagious. My friend sent her son to school (with a fever and sore throat) because he didn’t want to miss school. They found out later that he had STREP!
    ~~~~
    I’ve never had that either! It makes me want to put a piece of masking tape across there to make sure the fabric can’t get in there again!

    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

