I’m Giddy!

More sewing today. And I’m giddy with what I’ve done. I made shoes. Oh yeah. And it must be addicting because I want to make more! I used this pattern (not the pattern I originally was going to try).

cloth shoes 2

The pattern suggested enlarging/reducing to make different sized shoes. I used my printer and reduced it to 70% for the smaller pair. Once I had the pattern pieces printed I encased them in contact paper so they would be sturdier. (I wrote the percentage of original size on the back of the pattern before I encased them so I would be able to keep them straight.) I also used an xacto to cut the slits on the top piece for the placement of the elastic slits.

I made the big pair in the original pattern size first. Just to make sure I could do it. The pattern suggests using leather for the soles. Since I made these for non-walking babies I used fleece (got a 1 yard 60″ wide remnant from Wal-Mart for less than $2). And I used one fat quarter to make both pairs of shoes, including the lining, and still had a bit of fabric left over. And that was after cutting out one piece again because of a boo-boo. And I used pinking shears to try and reduce the fray factor.

For the slits inside the top for the elastic the pattern suggested making button holes. Well, I’ve only tried button holes on my machine once and I’m not very confident in my button hole making. So I used fray check and doused the areas for the slits. After it dried I used my seam ripper to make the slits. I’m hoping this will help avoid fraying there as well.

In the pattern it also says to pin on the top and the back then sew. I pinned on the top and sewed it on, then I pinned on the back and sewed it on. It was easier for me plus then I had fewer pins at once to contend with.

After making the big pair it took no time at all to whip up the smaller pair. Here is the smaller pair next to my phone so you can see how tiny they are. (Ooooo… so cute!)

cloth shoes 1

And now I’m addicted! I want to make more and more! And I want to be all fancy and embellish them with embroidery and beads. (Partly because I got this book and am feeling inspired to embroider. I also got this book and want to make stuff out of it too.)

So for now, the crafty sewing roll is still rolling. YAY!!!! I hope it lasts for a while.

*** *** ***

I have to share e-mail between my sister and me about this–I sent pictures to my mom and two sisters and my friend Rhonda. It cracks me up. (My editorial comments are in blue.)

Me: I’m giddy so I have to share what I made today. I think they are so cute and want to make more! And they were much easier than I expected. I took a picture next to my phone so you could see how small they are.

Tracy: Way Cute! They are so little. I think you need them in every color to match Baby M’s outfits. {Baby is not named so Tracy is referring to her as Baby M because our last name starts with M.}

Me:Totally! That’s what I said to Nann {another sister}. I can teach her young to want coordinating shoes for all her outfits! 🙂 An  Imelda in training. {Because we always call Tracy Imelda for her shoe collection.}

Tracy: Yes, I purchased four pair of shoes this month! {See, told ya!}Two replacements, and two fun sandals for summer. Baby M and I can hang out together.

Man, I love my family!

5 Responses to “I’m Giddy!”


  1. 1 Michele Quigley February 28, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Very cute!!
    ~~~~
    Thank you so much for sharing your pattern! I loved it and it was so easy. I just want to make more and more.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Nanno February 28, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    AMAZING! She will be a fashion Diva! I can hardly wait to see more. I took Tracy with me to buy a pair of shoes and she left without any, however I bought a new pair of CLARKS and found another pair I want for summer. (It has been over a year since I bought shoes though.)
    ~~~~
    Oh shoes! I haven’t even thought about buying sandals. I need new brown ones. And black ones. 🙂 I’ll survive with my red ones for now, though.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Cynthia February 29, 2008 at 6:33 am

    You have been so busy lately and I love the shoes. Your pencil rolls are so bright and cheery that I want to get out my sewing machine. But unfortunately, I promished myself to get the taxes sent off first.

  4. 4 Mary February 29, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Those wee little shoes are just darling! And I love the email update — very funny.

  5. 5 sadira March 2, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    These are too cute (and cell phone sized too??)


Leave a Reply

