I Regress

I Regress

It’s been about 6 months since I’ve had a Coke. I’ve been fighting the urge to drink one for a couple weeks now. But this weekend the words “I need a Coke!” came out of my mouth. And Joe bought me one! Probably because he said “I need a Pepsi” a week ago and I bought him one even though he isn’t supposed to have caffeine because of his heart.

That Coke tasted so good. I’m afraid I may have regressed for good. But I will try to resist for a few more months. I don’t want to drink it during the next 8 weeks and during the nursing months that will follow. This is the only pregnancy I’ve had that I’ve been able to give up Coke–maybe that’s why I’m having a girl this time! (I know that’s not the reason but it sounds good.)

So this morning while balancing the checkbook and paying bills I finished off my Coke and some Snickers minis. It made bill paying more relaxing. Yeah, more relaxing. 😉 I still have to file everything away and I’m out of Coke. My ice water will have to suffice.

serena's gift

My friend Serena received her blanket from me this past weekend. So now I can show the finished project. I think it turned out well. I still so love these fabrics!

4 Responses to “I Regress”


  1. 1 sadira March 10, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    It seems to me that someone I knew that was pregnant was told by her doctor that it was OK to have a cup of coffee a day…I mean, don’t do anything that you don’t want to…but, one Coke is probably going to be OK…
    ~~~~
    I’m pretty sure one (plus 😐 ) Coke a day is OK. Since that’s what I did with Sai and Jay. I was just trying to be better this time around. It doesn’t hurt to stop. But dang! It sure tastes good!!!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 kat March 10, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Sounds like you had a delicious day!
    That quilt you made looks beautiful. I can see why you love the fabrics. they are “happy” looking 🙂
    ~~~~
    Hee hee! It was delicious. 😀
    I just love the colors on those fabrics. And the desgins.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Irene March 10, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I want a Coke! I’ve been trying to give up soda, but man it’s hard. We usually never have any in the house, but I always have it when we go out.
    You’re doing so well! I don’t think I ever fully gave up caffeine while pregnant so I’m in awe. Keep it up- you’re just about there.

    BTW- the blanket looks wonderful- luscious in fact!
    ~~~~
    It is hard to give up soda! I love “the burn” you get with that first chug as it goes down the throat. I used to always have a fridge pack in the fridge with a spare in the garage. Now, we have soda on Friday nights because it’s pizza night! And on pizza nights we have rootbeer. We’re doing pretty good!

    Thanks for the blanket love!
    -Kathy

  4. 4 Keri March 10, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    I’m a total Diet Coke-a-holic and I’m not ashamed to say it. But when I was pregnant it tasted weird to me. I think I drank them occasionally, but for the most part they were just gross. Instead I drank chocolate shakes. Which, looking back on it, probably would have been better to just stick with the DC. lol Besides, I read over the weekend that a candy bar has about 1/2 the caffeine of a soda, and heaven knows I consumed enough chocolate (in one form or another) during that time! 🙂
    ~~~~
    I know what you mean! I originally stopped the Coke because it, and all sodas, didn’t taste good to me. So really it wasn’t hard to stop. But now it does taste good. And I’m glad I don’t like shakes because I could easily get addicted! I am addicted to chocolate milk, though, Nesquik specifically. Do candy bars really have that much caffeine? Man! I guess I’m still consuming lots of caffeine, but not as much as I could be consuming.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

