Baby Shower

Baby Shower Collage

Is it really narcissistic of me to post about my baby shower? Oh well. I’m doing it! This past Saturday my friend Rhonda held a baby shower for me. It was a lot of fun and very surprising.

I’d been at Rhonda’s house for about 10 minutes and she asked if I had looked at the presents. Well, no. So I went to look at them. I recognized hand writing on cards and packages and realized that my family and Joe’s family had sent presents. I was so surprised! I almost cried! It was the next best thing to having them there. They all said they would rather come see us after the baby is born rather than come up for the baby shower.

Anyway… I couldn’t believe how much stuff I got! They all knew that I didn’t have anything for a little girl. There were tons of clothes! Mostly in pink. And in a variety of sizes. There were some purple and lavender and other colors, too. And lots of cute little dresses! It was exciting.

When I got home I unloaded everything on the table according to size. I got only two or three things in newborn. A nice group of 0-3 months. A huge amount of 3-6 months. Some 6-9. A few 9-12. And I think one 18 month. I probably won’t have to buy clothes until she wears a 9 month size, or maybe as early as 6 month size. I packed the too big clothes away for future wear. I got paranoid thinking “What if She comes out a HE?” So I only washed the 0-3 month clothes that I didn’t think I would be able to return. All the returnable 0-3 month clothes are waiting till she comes home to be washed.

I also got some blankets. My mom sent me a cute baby quilt that looks like it’s in the 40’s fabrics. (It’s in the photo collage above. You can click on the collage to go to flikr and you can see the pictures better.)

And I got baby toiletries. Diapers. And a sweet diaper bag that my sister Nann made. And my in-laws sent a check so we can buy whatever we are missing. It was just crazy how much stuff I got.

And Rhonda did an awesome job throwing me a shower. I know she put a lot of time into it and a lot of thought. I really do appreciate it. I got her an awesome thank you gift made by my friend Mindy. Mindy sent it wrapped so I can’t show you how cool it is.

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

We’ve had lots of hail and snow this weekend. And I say “What the junk?” to that! We’ve had rain today and there’s more rain forecasted for the week. It’s supposed to be Spring Break next week. And the weather doesn’t look to promising so we’ll be trapped inside the house!

And poor Jay had a tough day on Saturday. First I left him home with Joe and Sai when I went to the shower. He cried and cried when I left. Then he went with Joe to drop Sai off at a birthday party. He was so sad that he didn’t get to go too. He fell asleep before they got home so Joe brought him up to the baby shower and they hung out there.

And today I’m so off my schedule. Monday is laundry day. I had also planned on cleaning the bathrooms and other stuff around the house. But Joe didn’t work today (won’t be working tomorrow either–they’re kind of slow right now) and he had school stuff to do in Redmond and Bend. He wanted Jay and me to go with him. So we did. We didn’t get back to our town until it was time to pick up Sai from school. So I’ve only been working on the laundry for about an hour now. It probably won’t all get done today. But in retrospect it may be good that I didn’t get it all done early…

At school Sai had his coat with him in the bathroom (I think it was after recess) and an older kid put his coat in the toilet! It happened once last week too. So not funny. He had a substitute today so the teacher aide went to talk to the teacher of the kid who did it. I’m not sure what happened with that. Sai’s teacher, who was originally due with her second child two weeks before me, is on bed rest. She’s been having contractions and her doc, who is also my doc, had her in the hospital overnight last week for observation and to get her contractions under control. So she’s out until June–she’s coming back for the last two weeks of school. The class was going to have a baby shower for her on Friday and the doc is letting her out of bed to go to the shower.

3 Responses to “Baby Shower”


  1. 1 nikko March 18, 2008 at 5:37 am

    I really like the design on the quilt that your mom made. How fun that you got such a nice shower. Yay for PINK!!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! It was a fun day. 🙂
    -Kathy

  2. 2 sadira March 18, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I think it’s wonderful that you posted your shower and all the gifts!! I’m excited to see what you got too…there are some mightily cute things in all those piles! I hope that you’re getting everything you need…and may I say that you hardly even look pregnant in that picture of you holding the cake! I kept thinking it must be someone else…
    ~~~~
    Ah, I blush. I feel huge but I guess compared to others I may not be. I certainly got lots of clothes for the girl! I think there are only a few things, like a car seat, left to get.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 kat March 18, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Looks like a lovely shower, your friend did such a nice job and oh, the loot! Looks like this baby girl is going to be all set 🙂 You must be so excited now that you are in the home stretch. (oh and you look great too!)
    ~~~~
    I’m excited and kind of nervous that I’m in the home stretch! But yes, it was a lovely shower.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

