I’m Not a Loser…

I’M A WINNER!!!!

Can you believe it? I won the fabulous quilt that the Fabulous Dana at Old Red Barn gave away. I think I’m still in shock!

It’s funny because I was on the computer earlier this morning and was going to go check out Dana’s blog but I ran out of time. So while I was eating lunch my sister calls and says “Congratulations!” I was confused. I asked why she was congratulating me and she told me I had won the quilt. So I get on the computer and check out my blog where Dana had left a comment. Then I checked out Dana’s blog and saw this…

Winning

YIPEE!!! I never win. But today I am a winner. πŸ˜€

Now what I was originally going to post seems so lame. But I’ll post it anyway. Yesterday was Sewing with Rhonda day. After my failed sewing projects last week I wanted to do something that I could finish and that I felt I would feel satisfaction doing. So I made a doll quilt with some fabric scraps.

Doll Quilt

Each square started out as a 2″ block. I’ve never worked with pieces so small. I assembled the front then added the yellow border. I drew on a pattern to do the machine quilting. This was only my second attempt at machine quilting since I got the darning foot for my machine last summer. I didn’t follow the pattern exactly. So it’s even more random. I’m going to have to practice at this free-motion quilting thing. I put on a binding and washed it, to get the markings off. And here it is. The finished size is 16″ X 13″, in fact, it looks more like a place mat than a doll quilt. Not very big but I was pleased with how it turned out. My next attempt will be bigger. But it was fun to do a project start to finish and to like what I did.

Or maybe I’m still on a quilt-winning high!

10 Responses to “I’m Not a Loser…”


  1. 1 sadira March 20, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Oh congratulations!! I am jumping up and down for you…what a beautiful quilt!! Did you see how many comments she had to choose from? Good grief! you are soooo lucky…I think you should play the lottery too…
    ~~~~
    Heck yeah! I should play the lottery. I’m feeling lucky! But I’d be happy with smaller things right now. πŸ™‚ Like a son who doesn’t come home from school grumpy and who doesn’t give his brother’s toys away to classmates. *sigh*
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Irene March 20, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    WOW! Congrats on the quilt. It’s a gorgeous one and I’m so glad you won it!!!
    And that doll quilt is very nice. I can’t really see the quilting on the picture. What does the quilted pattern look like? I haven’t tried any free motion yet, but am thinking I want to practice on some pot holders first. Maybe I’ll have time today.
    ~~~~
    Thanks! It is a gorgeous quilt. I quilted the doll quilt with a random stippling pattern. Basically just loops and squiggly lines. I think it is easier to start on small things. I still need TONS of practice!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Nanno March 20, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Congratulations!! It is always more fun when someone you know wins. (Especially when the odds are better than three thousand to ONE!) The doll quilt is cute. I hate sewing really small pieces so I have even more appreciation for how nice it turned out. Even the machine quilting looked nice when I looked at a bigger size of the picture. Yeah, your a finisher – or is it completer?
    ~~~~
    Thanks for being the one to notify me! I need lessons from you on free motion quilting. The flowers you quilted on my diaper bag are AMAZING!
    -Kathy

  4. 4 kat March 20, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    congratulations~
    I always knew you were not a loser πŸ™‚ The quilt is beautiful.
    ~~~~
    Oh thanks! I’m feeling lucky!
    -Kathy

  5. 5 dana March 21, 2008 at 6:26 am

    I love the doll quilt. And I’m with you — I love the feeling I get when I start and finish a project all in one day. Somedays just NEED that feeling of accomplishment. At least in my house!
    ~~~~
    I definitely need the feeling of accomplishment. Especially after having a bad sewing day. I need a good sewing day to get my “mojo” back. Hee, hee!
    -Kathy

  6. 6 Cynthia March 21, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Congratulations on winning the quilt. I popped over to take a look and it is so gorgeous. The quilt your Mom made is very pretty too, I’m so glad you had fun at your shower and recieved lots of nice things…it’s so exciting to have a new baby on the way!
    ~~~~
    Thanks Cynthia! So many exciting things going on here. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  7. 7 seemommysew March 21, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Congratulations! I popped over yesterday to say congrats, but it didn’t appear you knew then (you didn’t) so I thought I’d wait till you found out πŸ™‚
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I’m still excited!
    -Kathy

  8. 8 lera March 21, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Lucky, lucky you!!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I do feel lucky!
    -Kathy

  9. 9 Carla March 21, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Just wanted to congratulate you on winning the beautiful quilt. You had the luck of the Irish that day with THAT many entries. LOL! Enjoy your beautiful quilt! Have a great day!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I think I will enjoy it immensely.
    -Kathy

  10. 10 craftapple March 24, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    That is HUGE! Congratulations! I can’t believe someone gave away a whole quilt! But you and your baby will enjoy it. :o)

    Stuck inside with 2 boys?? Have you taught them how to play chess? My boys learned a couple of months ago and play EVERYDAY. They love it.
    ~~~~
    Thanks! The quilt is WAY exciting! Can’t wait for it to get here.

    I tried to learn chess a few years ago and my very patient husband gave up on me. We’ve been to the movies, the library, did some water coloring. We’re trying to keep busy and not use the TV to pass time!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

