Quilt update

Well, I got the quilt (from my previous post) up on the quilt stands. I had a goal of quilting a row a day to get the quilt done in five days. I almost made my goal for yesterday. I was just over a foot short of the goal. But I stopped because (1) my finger and thumb were sore! I think my mom must have developed super callouses on her finger and thumb from all the quilting she does. I did use a thimble and a needle puller thingy but my thumb still got poked a lot and bled a little. And (2) Joe built a fire in the back yard. I went out to enjoy it with him and the boys. We roasted marshmallows and had a good time until the boys were tired and ready for bed.

So yes, this quilt is for my baby and we get to keep it. Mom made the top, I’m quilting it so it’ll be a collaborative effort. My stitches aren’t so great. But I’m sure it’ll be fine. The boys sat and played under the quilt while I worked on it. I can’t get mad because I spent a lot of my childhood doing the same thing. However, I did ask them to stop when they would hit the quilt and send it bouncing. It’s hard to quilt something that is bouncing.

I haven’t set it back up yet today. When I do I’ll take a picture so you can see the progress.

So Grey’s will be back on April 24. I’m so excited. But that date doesn’t work so well for me. ABC: please start playing it sooner!!! Pretty please!!!

3 Responses to “Quilt update”


  1. 1 Mary March 28, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I’m ready for GA to come back, but only if it’s better than it was in the fall. Some of those storylines just ticked me off.
    ~~~~
    That’s true. I’m worried about Meredith and McDreamy. Maybe the hiatus has inspiried the writers and they’ve got good direction now!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 sadira March 28, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Oh…I can’t wait to see the quilt all quilted up…it is so wonderful! I am eagerly awaiting Heroes…but it’s been so long, I’m almost mad (almost.)
    ~~~~
    Well, I’m not going to make my goal so it’ll be a while till we see the final product. And yeah, I’m almost mad about a lot of shows. Dang, that’s admiting that I watch too much tv. Oh well!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 lera March 28, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    You’re always excused from crafting when there are roasted marshmallows to be enjoyed with your family.


Leave a Reply

