To Blog

I have all these comments backed up that I haven’t responded to. And I’m not promising that I will. But thanks to all who leave comments. Makes me loved.

Which kind of leads me to what’s been on my mind.

I started my blog last February. (Yeah, I missed my blogiversary. Oh well.) I wish I would have started blogging back when we first moved to Oregon. When we first moved here I would send frequent e-mail back to friends and loved ones letting them know how we were doing and what was going on in our lives. This blog has taken over. I figure this way it’s not forced down their throats (a.k.a. filling their in-box) but it’s something they can check out when they have the time.

Plus, once I started blogging I found all these wonderful blogs that I like to check out with crafts and sewing and family stuff. Thanks to Bloglines I get to read all these amazing posts.

I know a little bit about my audience. My family and Joe’s family. Some friends back in Utah. Friends and fellow bloggers that I’ve met online.

Who’s missing? The friends I’ve made since moving to Oregon. Is it weird that I am reluctant to tell them “Hey, I have this web site…”? Especially considering that I sometimes write about hanging out with April and Sewing With Rhonda. April and Rhonda are two wonderful friends but I’m reluctant to tell them, and most other people about my blog. And yet I feel like I’m hiding something from them.

So fellow bloggers… are you the same or does everyone you know access your blog?

8 Responses to “To Blog”


  1. 1 Mary April 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I’ve bee pretty quiet about my blog when it comes to real-life friends. Heck, I’ve only given the link to two family members, on strict orders not to share it with anyone else. I guess I just like the pseudo-anonymity of it.

  2. 2 kat April 3, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I have told my off-line friends of my blog, but you know what? They don’t really check it out. I think because I see them and do stuff with them… reading my blog might be overkill 🙂

    My family reads my blog daily, but they never ever leave comments.
    They call me or email me directly if they have a reaction to my posts.

    I think unless you have a blog, you really don’t check out other people’s blogs. (that is how I was)

  3. 3 Irene April 3, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    I tell people, but I really don’t expect them to check it out. It’s funny though because if they do, I’m a little embarrassed. I really don’t know why, but it’s like my personal area and if someone I know checks it out, it just feels weird. My family rarely reads mine except my sister who lives in Hawaii and most of the time, she just scans and doesn’t actually read it.
    Blogs/blogging is weird, isn’t it?

  4. 4 Wende April 3, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Most people know I blog. And I am not an anonymous blogger. Which is really hard in a small town! When I was an intern, I had to keep BW from starting every conversation with, “Do you read my mom’s blog?” I didn’t blog about my work life, but I still thought it best to stay under cover while I was getting my degree. But now, everybody knows.

    My parents read, which makes it a little hard sometimes. And I find I sensor more than I would if they weren’t part of my readership. But they accept that I’m a writer and that my world is words—and they know that sometimes, I’m going to trudge down memory lane. My mom leaves comments, my dad stews in the background. Hee.

    So, yeah—I would say most people in my life know. And if they don’t, it’s not because I’m hiding. It’s a little weird at first. But the more I’ve blogged and the more “out” I am, the more I realize—what’s to hide?

  5. 5 Wende April 3, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Ha ha ha ha… “Censor” not “Sensor”. I can’t find a way to make the latter work in that sentence. Hee.

  6. 6 Nanno April 4, 2008 at 8:51 am

    I like reading your blog. I don’t look at too many others and I know Mom and Dad like reading, even if they don’t comment. (Maybe I will teach Mom how to do that next.) The folks do like being able to keep up with you. Although, I think they miss the weekly letter. However, the same could be said of them from their mission in Fresno.

    I love the little glimpses into your life. Look at how much we like Dad’s little stories. One of my favorite things was scrapping those for him and I need to look at what else he has written and do more.

    We also had a conversation about what would your kids know about you. Most mothers scrap family things, and a ton about their kids, and very little about them. We are doing a scrap book about us with 12 suggested questions. AT least the blogging would give glimpses about your personality and what was important to you.

    I had initially hoped the family web site would be more like the blogging, and, maybe down the road it will. We do get snippets, like Cristin and Prom or Justin and the car, but I am as bad as the rest. I don’t want to monopolize, but then maybe if I did more, others would too.

  7. 7 sadira April 4, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    I think most people in my life know I blog…but it’s kind of like the shop…the people who know me don’t often read the blog (or shop in the shop either…for some reason) Or, if they do…they don’t let me know about it.

    I do censor a lot of what is going on in my life…what has happened to me, and personal thoughts about that. There are things I would love to get out onto paper, and that’s what I do…I either talk them out or write them down…but I don’t blog them. I recently started another blog because of some weirdness going on in my town through the blogging so I could feel a little more comfortable writing again…

    I do love that people can check in no matter where they are or who they are…but, I can say that I think I have met more people through the blog that read it a lot, but weren’t friends to begin with…Which is just wonderful in my opinion.

    I remember after I met Rich and he became a blog reader, I al of a sudden remembered I had written a post entitled “the panty report” I was kind of embarrassed about it, but not as much as when he told me that his family had also started reading my blog as well…Oh dear. 😉

  8. 8 Mary April 9, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I am totally covert about the blog! My family doesn’t know that I do this…if they did they would comment and be involved and my blog is for ME. If I knew they were reading it, I wouldn’t be able to talk about them now would I?! :o)


Leave a Reply

