Last Projects–at Least for a While

Boho Shoes 1

Boho Shoes 2

Here are the last of my pre-baby projects. I started these baby shoes forever ago and finally finished them today. The embroidery pattern is a compilation of a few elements from different projects in the Doodle Stitching book. Joe told me it looked “bohemian” so I’ve dubbed them the Boho Shoes. Just don’t look too closely. I haven’t rinsed out the marking pen I used yet. I just love these shoes. They incorporate two of my favorite hobbies–embroidery and sewing. I even sewed beads on. It’s my most ambitious embroidery project ever and I’m quite proud of them!

I also finished the hand quilting and binding on the baby quilt I’ve been working on. I washed it to get the marking pencil out and here it is! I think it looks good and I’m so happy my hand stitching survived the washer and dryer.

Finished quilt

Now I’m just biding time till Monday. Tomorrow I have a pre-op appointment to meet with the anesthetist and find out what time to be at the hospital (I’m guessing 5:30 a.m.). Then some last minute cleaning before my parents get here on Saturday. Time is flying yet not going fast enough. Ya know?

Oh, and, YAY ALI! I was so excited that Ali won the Biggest Loser last night. WAHOO! I can’t believe how teeny tiny she was. WOW!

9 Responses to “Last Projects–at Least for a While”


  1. 1 Joey April 16, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Way cute shoes. They do look Bohemian, but I love them. I watched Biggest Loser last night after my Birthday company left. Thank goodness for DVR/Tivos. Yeah for Ali and Bernie! Yeah for all of them to lose weight and feel better.

  2. 2 Blissy April 16, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    OH MY GOSH KATHY!!! Those shoes are soooo CUTE! WOW, I don’t think I’ve seen much of what you have embroidered. LOVE these! Your little girl is in for a treat with all the cute things you are going to end up making for her!

  3. 3 sadira April 16, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Those shoes are SOOOO cute! You did an amazing job…I can’t wait to see the model in them!! The quilt turned out great too…and Monday? Well, that’s indeed right around the corner isn’t it??

  4. 4 lera April 16, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Those shoes are absolutely adorable. They look like a labor of love. What a treasured heirloom they will become for your little girl. (I honestly thought it was embroidered fabric, not something handmade.)

    I can’t believe you are so close to the end! Hang in there, girl. And good luck to you and your family. I will keep you in my prayers.

  5. 5 jamie April 16, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Such cute shoes, I was so excited that Ali won to, she was so tiny.

  6. 6 Irene April 16, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I’m with everyone- those ARE SO CUTE! Great stitches.

  7. 7 Mary April 16, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Those sweet little shoes are just TDF!

  8. 8 Pieces April 17, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Wow, you are truly in the final countdown! Best of luck to you on Monday. And those shoes are truly adorable. So much work!

  9. 9 Nanno April 18, 2008 at 7:55 am

    I shared the shoes with a gal I work for and she wants a pair for her!! The folks are on their way and loaded down with lots of stuff. Dad was hardly limping this morning. We’re all anxious for Monday and to hear the good news.


Leave a Reply

