Introducing Sophie

Sohpie

Here is Sophie.

Joe “Introduced” her on his blog, but now it is my turn. Here is my precious little girl Sophie. She is now six days old. Time is already flying by. She was 7 lbs 6 oz and 20 inches at birth. My biggest baby yet, but really not that big.

In earlier pictures her hair had a bit of a red tint to it. But it is a light brown. In the sun there are tons of red highlights, though. I think she’ll look quite cute. (A lot of the nurses said that she has a temper, so there must be red in there somewhere.) She looks a lot like Sai looked as a baby, just with lighter hair.

She does all the typical newborn stuff: eat sleep poop. All in large quantities. In fact, our first night home she ate at 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and finally after she ate at midnight she went to sleep for about 3 hours. And she endures all the love and affection her brothers heap on her.

I’m doing well. Looking back I think this c-section was harder on me than the previous 2. I remember thinking, as they finally got under way, “This is the last time!” For example, it took 3 nurses 5 attempts to get an IV in me. I don’t even want to talk about the spinal–OUCH! I just feel more sore and more tired in general.

Joe has been really good and helpful. He likes to burp her when she is done feeding. If I start burping her he reminds me that it is his turn to take care of her. Unfortunately this doesn’t carry through tonight feedings. Joe’s also been really good with the boys. Taking them on outings to the park and to some local reservoirs to throw rocks.

I’ll leave you with another look at how our lives have changed with Sophie. I’m desperately trying to refuse the idea of a–gasp!!–mini van. I may have to give in. Two car seats and one booster make a full back seat in the Dakota.

truck full

13 Responses to “Introducing Sophie”


  1. 1 Dena April 27, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    I had noticed the red highlights in the pictures Joe posted. She does look a lot like Sai did. She sure is cute. I hope you recuperate quickly. It’s extra hard to get back to normal when you get up every hour during the night. I love the smiles on the boys faces in the pictures.

  2. 2 Michelle April 28, 2008 at 8:01 am

    Kathy she is very cute 🙂 glad everything went well.

  3. 3 Wendy April 28, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Awww. She is beautiful!!! Everyone needs a baby girl!
    Wendy

  4. 4 jamie April 28, 2008 at 9:58 am

    She is absolutely beautiful. Hope you feel better really soon.

  5. 5 Mary April 28, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Congratulations on the new bit o’ pink in your lives!

  6. 6 sadira April 28, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    she’s just precious! I tell you, it makes me want one for myself…then again, I’ve been feeling this way for a while, so that’s nothing new. I’ll just live vicariously through you for a while…good luck adjusting to everything that is new!!

  7. 7 lera April 28, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    She’s beautiful. Congratulations!

    We upgraded to a minivan when we only had two. Old back problems came back and I associated it to leaning over and putting the two boys in their carseats in the back of our car. Since then, we’ve had to upgrade again and are completely maxed out. Not a seat to spare. It’s all good, though.

  8. 8 Blissy April 29, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Gorgeous baby girl! Minivan huh? If you ask me a car is a car and they all end up being headaches at some point anyway 🙂

  9. 9 Joey April 29, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Kathy,
    She looks precious. I am glad the boys are adjusting to her. Take care and get whatever rest you can.

  10. 10 Joe April 30, 2008 at 10:39 am

    I like her. Can we keep her?

  11. 11 Mirre May 20, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Congratulations!!
    Sophie is gorgeous!

  12. 12 dana May 21, 2008 at 3:15 am

    OH she is beautiful! Congratulations!


  1. 1 how to make a sai Trackback on May 28, 2008 at 5:14 am

Leave a Reply

