Out on a Limb (edited)

I’m going out on a limb for this post. (I had to look up that phrase to make sure I was using it correctly. And I think I am.) I think my family and Joe’s family will get why this is a risky post more than any one else considering all the phone calls going back and forth this past week.

I’ll start by saying, WOW, what a year we have. I’m not meaning a year as in 2008, I mean a year as in since April 2007. Long time readers may remember what was happening in our lives a year ago. If you haven’t been a long time reader, here is the condensed version:

April 24, 2007 – My husband Joe has a heart attack. At the ripe old age of 31.

May 23, 2007 – Joe has double bypass surgery. Joe’s out of work for 10 weeks–4 weeks after the heart attack and 6 weeks after the surgery. About a week before he was set to go back to work he got laid off. After about two weeks of job searching he found a job.

November 30, 2207 – Joe gets laid off, again. Before Christmas. We were feeling pretty poor anyway and then this happened. Right before Christmas he found a job but at a significant pay cut.

March 17, 2008 – Joe gets laid off yet again! This housing market is killer. People aren’t building houses so plumbers like my husband are out of work. Our little town has been hit hard by this. The lumber mills keep laying off people and so many people are out of work. Joe’s been applying every where but no one is hiring.

April 21, 2008 – Sophie joins our family. She wasn’t planned but we sure can’t imagine our lives without our Princess Sophie. (Had to add this since I forgot to the first time around.)

May 14, 2008 – It’s official, I think (see, going out on a limb here). We are moving back to Utah.

If we had had just the health crisis, or just one of the lay offs I think we would be OK. But really, who has enough savings to survive this much time off work? So we are moving back to Utah. We’ll be staying with my sister Tracy until we can get jobs and get back on our feet. (Thanks again, Tracy!) It will be nice to have family around to help us out. Plus, the kids will love being around their grandpas, grandmas, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

I’ve already applied for my old job at my old company. If I were lucky enough to get the job back then Joe would be a stay home dad and go to school at night. But we’re not really sure if that is going to happen. So many things can change.

But for now we are working on packing up (boy does the house look funny!). We’ll be moving at the end of the month. It’s a bittersweet move for me. I’ll be happy to be back around our families again. But I’m really going to miss the friends that I have made here. Especially my friend Rhonda. When I told her yesterday we both had the waterworks going. And I’m bummed that I didn’t take the time last week to meet up with Irene again while she was here in Central Oregon.

So that’s the big news.

I’m off to look at flights. We are considering flying me and Sophie and Jay to Utah so the two little ones won’t have to endure two days of driving. Joe’s dad is flying up a few days before the move to help us pack up the Uhaul and drive. So we may just have Joe and his dad tow the truck as well and take Sai with them. We’ll see.

11 Responses to “Out on a Limb (edited)”


  1. 1 Nancy May 14, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    My thoughts are with you at this time of relocating. When my hubby and I moved with our 13 year old son two years ago, we were having such a hard time selling our house, I finally made a small wallhanging called “out on a limb”. It is a branch with birds. I truely felt “out of control”. You have taken control and have a plan, that is the first step.

    Hope to hear from you after your are settled and life is back to normal….

  2. 2 lera May 14, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    I agree that you have had a crazy year. I hope Utah brings you and your family all the happiness you deserve (and are overdue)! Good luck with your move.

  3. 3 Cynthia May 14, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Oh my goodness, what a whirlwind of change and uncertainty you have had this past year. I will be praying for your safe travel and that you will be at peace with all that lies ahead. The thought of having to pack up so soon after having a c-section ugh!!But…Your new arrival is so beautiful and I agree so precious,,,I know you will enjoy having a daughter as much as I do. Mine’s only 6 and we have such a great time. I’ve always had boys before and wouldn’t trade them for anything, but my girl is so special. Take care xo

  4. 4 nikko May 14, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Oh wow. Good luck with the move. Hopefully it will bring you the peace and stability that you and your little family need. Wish I could help out in some way! Hugs!

  5. 5 jared May 15, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Can’t wait to see you guys!

    Let me know when Joe is going to arrive here with the moving truck (so I can help unload) and anything else we can help with.

  6. 6 JasonW May 15, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Well, as part of the UTAH contingent of your friends I have to say that I can’t wait to see you guys again!

    I’d also like to second Jared’s offer to help with the moving truck.

    Hang in there.

  7. 7 Mary May 15, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Wow! What a year you have had! I’m sorry things have been so hard for you. I’m glad you have family to help you get settled. Good luck with this new adventure…new home, new job, new baby. It’ll be great, you’ll see.

  8. 8 jmarz May 15, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    You forgot about Sophie.

  9. 9 Ken May 16, 2008 at 8:25 am

    OK, If Jared and even Jason are going to help…I guess I better offer also.

    One kicker…I may have to help you load rather than unload. I will be in Oregon from the 25th – June 2nd. So I guess I will give you a call and see when if I can help on one end of the move or the other.

  10. 10 sadira May 19, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Well…that is all BIG news (most of all the move) I can’t say that I love to move, and I am wishing you an easy time of it…I am also happy that you are going to be nearer to family…and I don’t suppose it has to be forever right? I mean, who knows what the future will hold or where you’ll end up!?!?!

  11. 11 Irene May 20, 2008 at 8:41 am

    I thought that might be what you were hinting at in your last post. I’m sad to see you go, but I know that you two thought long and hard about this. Moving is not easy, but it sounds like there are many people who can’t wait for your return. Good luck and maybe now, we can come and visit in Utah!!!


Leave a Reply

