Fabric…

…it multiplies like bunnies.

When we moved to Oregon all of my sewing supplies and fabric fit into one large tote (large tote pictured in photos below). In the nearly three years we have lived in Oregon my fabric alone multiplied. I had all fabric and sewing supplies, not including my machine, in 9 totes and two sets of plastic drawers. Oh My. As we’ve been packing Joe said that it’s not fair to expect the boys to downsize their toys if we don’t downsize ours as well. So I spent yesterday going through all my sewing stuff.  Here is a photo of the mess mid reorganization.

fabric before

I had a BIG mess all over the floor. All of my fat quarters were previously filling two totes. I got them to fit into one slightly larger tote. Then all my other miscellaneous fabrics fit into another slightly larger tote and the big tote. All of my supplies, not including cutting mat and rulers, fit into another larger tote. Whew! I had a lot of scraps that I had saved thinking that one day I might have use for them. But I got rid of a lot. There’s a big pile heading to the thrift store. I’m not worried about not having enough of something. I’ll be living in the land of Mom and sisters who sew and more fabric stores than in this small town.

fabric after

While down sizing I found some fabric in my stash that I’m going to use to make summer PJs for Sai. If I’m behind on the laundry he only has flannel PJs which are just way too hot! So I’ve got to get them cut out and then I’ll sew them up on Wednesday–my last Sewing with Rhonda day 😦 .

And can I just say that it’s HOT?! It’s 93 here right now. Ugh. I have a sister living in Vegas and it’s only 91 there. The Northwest is hotter than Vegas. That just doesn’t seem right! Luckily Sophie has some cute hot weather clothes thanks to my niece Tiffany–Thanks again Tiff!!

6 Responses to “Fabric…”


  1. 1 Dena May 16, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    I can’t believe it’s hotter there than it is here. That is really unusual. And I’m sure you have much more humidity than we ever get here. Today almost felt cool.

  2. 2 sadira May 19, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    My heavens…it’s hotter there than here! Of course, you have an ocean as well…then again, that may make for some serious humidity right? Ugh…Congratulations on paring down the fabric stash…that’s not the easiest thing to do!!

  3. 3 Mary May 20, 2008 at 8:06 am

    I don’t believe that down sizing should apply to the mom. It seems to me that everyone needs to make room for my very important, ever growing supplies. :O) Stay cool. I on the other hand am just trying to stay warm and dry because we have cool 60 degrees and rain (again).

  4. 4 Irene May 20, 2008 at 8:46 am

    I can’t believe you condensed everything down to just that! I had to just clean off my sewing/dinning room table this weekend for my step-sister’s baby shower and I filled 3 huge totes of stuff. I asked Chris to help me drag everything back up from the basement after the party was over and he told me that’s like asking him to flip his own execution switch. Wha…? But, really, it’s BAD!

  5. 5 jamie May 20, 2008 at 10:14 am

    I pulled out all my fabric (after john went to sleep to avoid fabric shock he he) the other night and yeah it’s bad but i love it! I love to take it all out then re-fold it and put it back….hi my name is jamie an I am a fabricoholic!!!!

  6. 6 Jenny May 21, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Sorry, I can’t relate to that fabric thingy. I must be the weird sister (ha ha). Kathy, I know someone you know. Brian Smith at NuSkin. I told him you were coming back to Provo and applying for your old job. He said that was great. His son is on the Ballroom team with Cristin and has a little crush on her. Shocking :> Have fun flying with the kids. Hope to see you soon. I love you! I really didn’t realize how much I have missed you until now. Four blocks away will be wonderful. You could have 3 built in teenage babysitters.


Leave a Reply

