Toys

Saturday we went to the big toy store. The boys were sooooo excited. Jay was cracking me up! We went with the intent to look at toys to get an idea of what to get Sai for his birthday tomorrow.

While we were looking at Transformer toys and Star Wars toys I looked across the aisle to the pink side. And I thought, “Oh! I can start looking at girl toys now.” It seemed that there were more boy toys than girl toys. And most of the girl toys were dolls and stuff. But I got super annoyed that there was one whole row dedicated to pretend cleaning and cooking supplies. It just seemed so stereotypical and I was annoyed. I’m not a super feminist but that sure touched off the feminist in me. Boys can play like they are vacuuming and sweeping too!

And then there were the freaky dolls that started talking when I walked by. It’s all a little too Chatty Cathy/Twilight Zone for me.

Friday I got off work early so we did the big dinner and movie for Sai’s birthday since we can’t do it during the day tomorrow. He picked to eat at Cracker Barrel. Yum. And we went to see Wall-e. Good movie.

4 Responses to “Toys”


  1. 1 sadira June 30, 2008 at 11:07 am

    I once worked in a LARGE retail store, and women used to come in all the time sneakily buying “girl” things for their boys. Mostly because the boys were embarrassed by it. One lady bought a vacuum for her boy because, “…he watches his daddy vacuum the house, and he wants to help” and one woman bought her son a doll for his birthday because, “…it’s all he really wants and I will give it to him in private because he told me his friends wouldn’t understand” I mean, how else do boys learn how to be good partners and parents if they don’t play it out?

    Happy Birthday to Sai!!

  2. 2 kat June 30, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Happy birthday to your sweet sai.
    Good to hear that Wall-e was good.
    So far I have heard nothing but rave reviews.
    I can’t wait to take the kids this week.

    I still have something for you + your little one. I just never got it in the mail, and then when you were moving I just figured I’d wait to get your new address and then mail it then 🙂 So when you get the chance, drop me an email where I can send a little something!

  3. 3 Denise Wheeler June 30, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I am so horrible! I have not visited your blog in so long. I saw the first pictures of Sophie today and found out you were back in Utah. Wow! How time flies!

    I hope all is well for you down there. We are roasting here and having some thunder and lightening. So, needless to say I have been busy!

    E-mail me your new address!

    Hugs!
    Denise

  4. 4 Joe July 3, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    I had as much fun there as the boys did. It was fun to see them running up and down the aisles yelling out to each other.


Leave a Reply

