Emergency

Joe called me yesterday at about 3:40. There was an emergency. The boys were jumping up on the couch. And no matter how many times both Joe and I tell them not to do it and to stop, they keep doing it! Anyway, Jay hit his head on the tile window sill behind the couch. He broke the tile and his head was bleeding.

So I rushed home thinking we were heading off to the doctor’s for stitches. Jay is our bruiser. He’s been rushed to the doctor for stitches before, but didn’t end up getting stitches. (Despite the nurse freaking me out saying that he would need stitches and would have to be strapped down to get them–he was about 10 months old at the time.)

I walk in the house expecting screaming, or crying. But it was quiet. Sophie was taking a nap and slept through all the excitement. Sai was in trouble for not listening to dad and was laying on his bed. And Jay was sitting on Joe’s lap with an icepack on his head.

Jay had a small goose egg and two bleeding scratches. It wasn’t as bad as I was expecting. But Joe and I were still worried about Jay having a concussion. We’ve been extra worried about Jay’s head since he got a concussion when he was 18 months old. (See, he is my bruiser.) So I called the pediatrician’s office and talked to a nurse. The nurse was awesome. She had me check him out and told me that she didn’t think it was a concussion but if displayed any of the signs she told me then I was to call back in. (I love this pediatrician’s office. They have a nurse on-call 24/7 to answer any questions you have.)

So we watched Jay. And he was OK. Joe and I think that if the tile wouldn’t have broken that Jay would have hit his head harder and probably would have ended up with a concussion. But I feel bad becuase we are staying with my sister and he broke her tile!

Here is a (not very good) picture of his head. The big bleeding scratch was on the top right side of his forehead by his hairline.

Jays head

And here is the window sill.
window sill

Sorry about the tile, Tracy! Tracy’s at Girls Camp right now. Well, actually she has to work this morning so she is on her way down. So I hope to talk to her before she sees this!

3 Responses to “Emergency”


  1. 1 Nann-o July 9, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Sorry for the scare, but glad Jay is okay. Part of growing up, but still a worry.

  2. 2 jamie July 9, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I hate when kids get hurt!! I’m glad he didn’t have to get stitches.

  3. 3 sadira July 9, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Phoey! Poor kid…although, maybe they both learned a lesson? I hope so…


Leave a Reply

