Recycled Phone Numbers…

…Are giving me a headache!

After we moved to Utah we went to the Sprint store and got local numbers. I was glad to get an 801 number instead of the new area code. But I didn’t realize that I got an 801 number because I got a recycled phone number. You would think it wouldn’t be a problem but Terry, former owner of my new number, didn’t tell people her new number.

So I get a few calls a week from people looking for Terry. I’m nice about it and say they have the wrong number. Yes, it used to be Terry’s but it no longer is. But it turns into a headache when people call the number twice because they don’t believe. Example:

Get a call from a number in Hawaii. Caller asks for Terry I say wrong number. Caller recites phone number. Yup, that’s the number you called. Hang up. Less than two minutes later (I checked my call log so I know it was only two minutes) the same caller calls. As soon as I answer the caller breaks into “Terry, blah blah blah…” and I have to break in and say still wrong number. That happened again with a caller from Iowa.

I feel like changing my voice mail greeting to “You have reached 801-555-5555. This is no longer Terry’s phone. If you are not calling for Terry please leave a message.” And then all the numbers I don’t recognize I would let go to voice mail. That should alleviate my headache, right?

6 Responses to “Recycled Phone Numbers…”


  1. 1 sadira July 9, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Yes, I think that’s a very good idea…otherwise you’re going to go nuts!!

  2. 2 Nann-o July 9, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    It was my land line when I moved. I still get service calls after 3 1/2 years! I would go with the voice message idea. Hopefully they will track Terry down another way.

  3. 3 jamie July 14, 2008 at 8:39 am

    We still get calls for the people who had our home phone number before us. The best part is when they ask if you have their new number. NO I don’t know them grrr 🙂

  4. 4 Mary July 15, 2008 at 6:20 am

    I had the same problem. I did leave a message just like that on my phone. It worked. It took some time, but it worked.

  5. 5 Marco January 1, 2011 at 5:16 am

    this pisses me off that everyone texts me sayin theyre sure im one of their friends but i have to keep telling them wrong number and yet all they give me is rudeness when i calmly explain to them that this is no longer her number and when they call e more then 3 times and i tell them to go find who they think theyre calling in order to get her new number -.- i just got a very rude text today, on new years! just because sum guy texted me saying he was sure i was his ex gf and after the fifth time i just told him that i wasnt her and that he should go see if he can find her do that people will stop calling and texting me thinking im her and instead he just says, “oh, well im sorry cunt, she a cool person, fucken betch, have a fuckkin new years asz!” and i find that extremely offensive and yes it very much so pissed me off -.-‘

  6. 6 google June 16, 2014 at 10:14 am

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!


Leave a Reply

