Weekend Adventures

Joe and I are trying to do fun stuff with the kids every weekend. Last weekend was the water fall (which was on fire this weekend). Friday night I suggested going to Cascade Springs on the Alpine Loop Scenic Byway.

We had a really good time. We drove up Provo Canyon past Sundance to get there. The boys hiked around on their own, for the most part. And I had Sophie in the front pack. We took lots of pictures on our digital camera but can’t find the cord to put them on a computer. So here are a few I took with my phone.

Joe and Jay were checking out bugs living under rocks in the stream.

Cascade Springs 1

Sophie hanging out with me in the shade while the guys played in the stream. She is a HUGE slobber girl. And isn’t that just a cute pink and white bucket hat?

Cascade springs 2

We finished the loop on the way home and came out American Fork Canyon. It was such a pretty drive. I want to do it again this fall when the leaves are all red and orange.

On the way home Sai said he wants to go swimming. And what a great idea that was! It was a hot day – over 100 — so swimming sounded refreshing. We left Sophie with my sister Tracy and went to Seven Peaks Water Park. I have always loved Seven Peaks–it was my summer job during my high school years. The boys had a blast. Sai is a little fish! And thanks to SPF 50 none of us got sunburned. (OK, I got sunburned at Cascade Springs but not at the water park. My scalp is killing me. It was so fun to blow dry my hair this morning. And I’m going to look all dandruff-y when it peels off.)

So we had a really good Saturday. I woke up Sunday with sore calves. They are still sore today.

Yesterday Sophie found her toes. Here she is eating them.

Sophie toes

She finally laughed out loud. She did it in her sleep a few nights ago. But yesterday Jay was playing with her and she laughed at him. I’m so jealous! At least she loves her brothers.

2 Responses to “Weekend Adventures”


  1. 1 sadira July 28, 2008 at 10:59 am

    She is indeed a cutie! I’m so glad you guys are getting out and having fun…why do we often “forget” to do that in our lives? Nuts…anyway I can’t think of a much better way to spend a hot day than at a water park…

  2. 2 nikko July 29, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Looks like you are having some fun weekends. Good for you for getting outside with your kids. I have fun memories of Provo Canyon and Bridal Veil Falls. Sophie is getting so big!


Leave a Reply

