Back to School

It took a collaborative effort but we finally got Sai registered for 1st grade. WHEW! Last night was back to school night. We went to the school and met his teacher, Mrs. W.  (And I forgot to take the camera!!)

Sai’s class room is pretty cool. There are little desks for each child with their name on them. Sai sat at his desk and his teacher asked him to draw a picture of himself sitting at his desk and also to write his name. My kid did AWESOME! And guess who sits next to Sai — J.Lo. At least the 1st grade in Utah version.

His school is pretty big. We walked around and found the lunch room and music room and saw the classes for the higher grades. We showed him where to go after school so Joe can pick him up.

The crazy thing is that the school day is much shorter here than in Oregon. Last year he went to school 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. This year he goes 8:20 a.m. to 2:45 p.m. I’ll drop him off every morning (luckily my boss is understanding and OK with me getting in to work at 8:30 a.m.) and Joe will pick him after school. I’m worried about when Joe’s classes don’t get out until 3:00 p.m. I’ll probably have to postpone my lunch until 2:30 and then go pick him up. But we’ll deal with that when it happens.

I think Jay is feeling a little sad. He went with us to back to school and he didn’t get a desk and he didn’t get a bag with supplies. He seemed kind of sad to me. Driving home we passed the church so he started talking about his class at church (nursery). It will take some adjusting for him when Sai starts school. And once Sophie is more mobile I’m sure he’ll have a lot more fun with her.

Sophie is growing like crazy! And getting so smart! She laughs. Oh so sweet. All the boys, Joe and Sai and Jay, were able to laugh but she hadn’t done it for me. I was feeling bad. So she was laying on my bad and I was playing with her and asked “Why don’t you laugh for me?” and she started laughing! She knows how to make her mom happy. Sophie’s also trying to figure out how to clap. When you do it she stares at your hands then she brings her hands together. I tell her YAY and she smiles big. I also think that she puts her arms up when she wants you to pick her up. Joe thinks that she just gets excited and waves her arms. I like my version better.

We are headed off to a family reunion tomorrow, my dad’s family. So hopefully we’ll have some fun pictures to show for it.

1 Response to “Back to School”


  1. 1 sadira August 16, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Oh, the baby is growing so fast isn’t she? I hope the boys have fun in school, no matter where they are and what supplies they take…have a fun weekend!


Leave a Reply

