And This Is What He Looked Like

Sai 1st Grade

This is what Sai looked like on his first day of school. What a goofy face! I like his natural smile much better than this posed one. He had a good first day. He couldn’t remember the names of any kids in his class and didn’t play with them. He played with his friend from the neighborhood, though. He has a maximum of 20 minutes of homework a night, 15 of which is supposed to be reading. I guess we better be heading to the library soon!

Jay was awake this morning when Sai and I left. Oh how he cried! I felt so bad for him! I made a compromise, though. Usually when the babysitter is over they get to play Nintendo or PlayStation but not until AFTER they eat breakfast. I told him he could play for a half hour before breakfast. That made him stop crying.

One thing I really like about getting back to school is getting the kids to bed early! It means I don’t get to spend as much time with them a day as I would like, however, I have more time to relax without them running around and yelling and playing. Ideally 8:00 bed time is best. I’m shooting for 8:30 this week. Last night the boys were in bed by 8:45. We’re working on it. Sai was pretty tired last night and had huge dark circles under his eyes.

2 Responses to “And This Is What He Looked Like”


  1. 1 nikko August 19, 2008 at 11:53 am

    We haven’t even started school yet (next week!) but we’re aiming for 8:00 bedtimes this week. Last night (FHE!) it didn’t happen. Ugh. Those first few weeks of school it seems like everyone is so tired!

    He looks so cute!
    ~~~~
    Well, bed times are getting better! I had the boys in bed by 8:20 last night. YAY! But they each got up once. I’m hoping by the end of next week we’ll make 8:00 or 8:15. Last year I spent the week before school transitioning them to the earlier bed time. I didn’t this year because it takes away from the time I get to spend with them after work. This is one part of being a working mom again that isn’t fun.
    Kathy

  2. 2 Nann-o August 19, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    That is a great picture of Sai. I need to get his little bag made up and bring over for Jay. It has been too hectic.
    ~~~~
    Thanks for the bag. Sai and I rushed out this morning so I didn’t get a chance to tell the babysitter about it.
    Kathy


Leave a Reply

