Labor Day Weekend…

It went by in a blur. Not that we were running busily every waking minute. It just seems that long holiday weekends always go by too fast (any weekend, really).

Sophie worked on rolling over. Here she is on her tummy. She’s such a cute girl!

Sophie on her tummy

I need to get a picture of her doing her pilates. When you lay Sophie down she will not let her head and feet rests. She keeps them up off the ground. Maybe in hopes that she’ll either sit herself up or that you’ll reconsider putting her down.

Friday night Joe took the boys to a Real Salt Lake game. My sister Tracy and I (and Sophie) stayed home to sew. Over Friday and Saturday I made two bags. They are based on Monica’s pattern in the most recent BHG Quilts and More magazine. The pattern calls for larger amounts of fabric. I made the same bag with 5 fat quarters, ‘cuz that’s what’s in my stash. I cut the lining for the pocket 1/4″ larger so it has a piping effect. I also made the straps longer so it’s easier to throw it over my shoulder. I think they turned out cute. The blue one is my new purse.

Two purses

We had rain over the weekend. I had left the windows on my car cracked a bit. Yeah. My rear was damp this morning when I got to work. I love the rain, though, so no big deal. And Saturday we took the kids to see the newest Indiana Jones movie. I liked it. I don’t think Joe liked it so well. The boys loved it! They want to be Indy for Halloween. (The boys want Sophie to be the Hulk. WHAT?! I finally get a girl. I want her to be a princess or something cute. Not the green hulk!)

7 Responses to “Labor Day Weekend…”


  1. 1 Nann-o September 2, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    That’s such a cute picture of Sophie! The bags are every bit as cute in person. Way to go!
    ~~~~
    Thanks, Nann! We still need to plan a sewing day! Maybe when you get back from St. George, or something. If I plan it in advance then Joe can make his own plans for the day. 😉
    Kathy

  2. 2 nikko September 3, 2008 at 11:00 am

    What a great picture of Sophie. She looks more and more like her brothers as she gets older, doesn’t she?

    Those bags turned out nice! I’m so jealous that you have someone to sew/craft with.
    ~~~~
    She does have some of her brothers’ features. I see a lot of her Grandpa Marzan in her eyes, though. It’s that Filipino in them.
    It’s hard to make the time to sew/craft. I’ll take what time I can get!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 sadira September 3, 2008 at 11:20 am

    The bags are very cute…and I am loving the fabrics! Sophie is getting so danged cute! I don’t know about the Hulk though…
    ~~~~
    Thanks! And I need all the support I can get on my anti-hulk campaign. I think I just need to make/buy her a costume before Joe get’s really serious and makes his own hulk costume for her.

    Kathy

  4. 4 Joe September 4, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Don’t make Sophie mad. You wouldn’t like her when she’s mad. ArrrrggggHHHHHH! (Sound of flannel onesie ripping) Sophie smash! Sophie break!
    ~~~~
    No, no, no! You have it wrong! Sophie will not turn into the hulk. She will FROPE ON YOU!!! EW! FROPE!

    Seriously…no hulk for Sophie. Sophie girl. Sophie pretty.
    Love, Sophie’s-over-protective-mom-who-will-not-dress-her-darling-little-girl-up-as-the-hulk

  5. 5 Carrie September 5, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    What an adorable picture of Sophie! Love the bags — what a fun way to spend the weekend.
    ~~~~
    It was fun to sew. YAY!

    -Kathy

  6. 6 happy zombie September 7, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Oh Kathy, oh Kathy, oh Kathy!!! OMH… I’ve been living under a rock way too long! So much joy for me to read all of your great news!

    You’re Sophie is too beautiful for words. Oh she is just adorable – and that’s saying a lot because I don’t normally go gaga over babies. Sophie is just too cute. Adorable. Beautiful. Pure sweetness!

    And your other news to me… you moved back to Utah! I’m so happy for you. To be back with family… there’s nothing better. Though I am sad you’re no longer in Oregon.

    So minor in your big picture of joy, but I couldn’t have been more tickled to see you make that pocket bag, and I feel so honored by your shout out. Love your mods too. Love, love, love it! I’m so big on modifications and making it your own. I’m just gaga over how you used your fat quarters too.

    Huge big congrats on all the goodness and happiness in your life!
    ~~~~
    Well, I LOVE the bag. Great pattern! My sister and I have plans to make some more–a girl can never have too many! I’ve been using the blue one as my purse and when I got to work this morning I thought “I should have changed bags, the orange and teal one matches my outfit better” HA HA!

    It was tough to make the decision to move back to Utah. We love Oregon so much! Who knows…Maybe when Joe is done with school we’ll move back. 🙂

    -Kathy

  7. 7 Wende September 13, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Oh! How cute is she? TOO CUTE! 😀
    ~~~~
    Oh thanks! I think she is one cute baby! She has a lot of personality and I think it shows in her pictures.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

