Sai’s News

So last night after dinner Sai comes up to me. He says “Look Mom!” So I look at his face. And I can’t see anything different. I was thinking that maybe he was doing something kooky with his eyes, but I couldn’t see anything. So I asked him what.

“I have a loose tooth!”

And he did have a loose tooth! He was wiggling it with his tongue and I was paying attention to his eyes.

Sai has been sooooo excited ever since. Probably because last year in Kindergarten all of his class mates were losing teeth. But he kept wiggling his tooth and saying stuff about having a loose tooth. He was funny. Then this morning we were getting him dressed. He has a Thanksgiving program at school so I wanted him to wear a nice shirt and pants (which he complained about wearing church clothes to school) and after he was dressed he sat in the chair, crossed his ankles, and said “I look just like Dad but with a loose tooth.” He’s such a crack up!

So here he is with his loose tooth. (You can’t tell which one is loose so I outlined it.)

Sai's Tooth Outlined

As we left this morning he was talking about the tooth fairy. He said “Yeah, and I’ll get a hundred bucks!” WOAH! The tooth fairy in his world must be pretty rich. By the time we got from the house to the car, not a far walk, he was up to some number in the billions. I hope he’ll be happy with maybe a dollar. Or some quarters. Joe said that the tooth fairy is feeling the economic crunch, too.

And now I want to make him a tooth pillow. I think I’m hitting the craft store on my way home from work. I’m thinking a little tooth-shaped pillow out of felt. And maybe embroider his name on it or something. Sometimes it’s really fun to be the mom.

3 Responses to “Sai’s News”


  1. 1 jamie November 25, 2008 at 11:22 am

    How fun! Maybe he can sing all I want for Christmas is my 2 front teeth by Christmas time 🙂
    ~~~~
    If they all start falling out now that could be a possibility. I think that the fact that he was eating a pork chop off the bone contributed to his tooth being loose.

    Eden’s not that far off losing teeth. I’m sure there are kids in her kindergarten class who have already lost them.

    -Kathy
    (Any cute Christmas fabric at the store? I need to make Christmas stockings!)

  2. 2 Nann-o November 25, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Congrats to you and Sai. Emily can vouch that the tooth fairy leaves a dollar so he can talk to her. He is too cute. Have fun making your pillow. Hopefully you are off on Friday and can do some crafting.

    I am off Wednesday through Sunday (although I fly to San Diego on Saturday night) so I am thinking I will get some hand work done and might start “Twilight” (finally)…
    ~~~~
    I’m sure he’ll talk to Emily on Saturday. (Still doing gingerbread houses, right?)

    I’m off Wednesday through Sunday too. YAY!!! Are you going to San Diego for work? Hope you enjoy Twilight. It was my favorite of the whole series.

    -Kathy

  3. 3 sadira November 26, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Ohhh…congats to him! I think I used to get a silver dollar and sometimes some stickers or something fun…I wonder what I would get if I put my tooth fairy pillow up again? Probably not much…sigh!
    ~~~~
    I too wonder what I would get from the tooth fairy. But I’m not willing to give up any of my teeth to find out! (Makes me wonder what dentists do with teeth they remove. Biological waste or regular garbage or keep for a macbre collection???)

    The tooth is no looser. (Is that correct? Can’t think on a Monday morning). So the half-finished tooth pillow isn’t a pressing matter so I can focus on Christmas projects.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

