Updates

After talking to some friends last week (was it only last week? seems so long ago) I realized that I haven’t done very well at updating. Here are some things going on around here.

We moved. Over a month ago. Still living in the same town. We painted last week and are getting new carpet (carpet guy is there at this very moment finishing up). It feels like a whole new place. Ahh… I’m no longer scared to walk barefoot in my own home or to let Sophie crawl around.

We had a good Thanksgiving. We were going to do our own thing. But Thanksgiving Day Joe said he thought we should spend it with our families. So I called my mom (an hour before they ate) to invite ourselves over. She was more than happy to accomodate us. After Thanksgiving lunch (my family eats early!) we played Rock Band with my nieces and nephews. It was so much fun! I was a mic hog–at least on songs I knew well enough to sing with. Joe said that was the most fun he’s ever had at my parents. Ever. In over 12 years of marriage. No pictures because I forgot the camera. What a bad mom! No pictures of Sophie’s first Thanksgiving. But she slept through dinner so I guess no big deal.

Thanksgiving night we went to Joe’s family for dessert. Jay initiated the sleepover game and won. So Sai and Jay slept at Grandma M’s. Joe, sleepy Sophie and I went to the late show and saw Four Christmases. Oh so funny!

Friday we did not do any Black Friday shopping. We did meet up with Joe’s sister and her boyfriend for lunch. And ended up going to the movies with them to see Twilight. I wasn’t as disappointed as I thought I would be. Although I did laugh in parts because it had its cheesy moments.

Saturday morning was the annual gingerbread house event at my parents. Everyone brings candy and decorates houses made out of grahm crackers, not gingerbread. The kids had a blast. Joe took the camera fishing with him so I stole these pictures from my niece’s blog.

Sai frosting beard
Sai with a frosting beard.

Sai frosting kiss
He then gave me a big yucky kiss on the cheek!

Jay and Owen
Jay playing with my niece’s son Owen (Love Owen’s red hair!).

After the house decorating my brother Karl watched my boys so I could go to the fabric store with my mom and sisters. We went to this place called Gracie Lou’s. It was a cute store. I picked out a book for my mom to give me for Christmas and that’s about it. (I hate living on a budget!!)

Saturday night we (mostly Joe) ripped out carpet. We’ve been living in a mess! Yesterday we got new carpet in all the bedrooms and the hall. Today we are getting carpet in the living room and on the stairs.

WHEW!

So that’s us lately.

So behind on all the Christmas projects. I may have to admit defeat because the outlook of the projects getting done is looking dim.

2 Responses to “Updates”


  1. 1 nikko December 2, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    It’s nice to see an update from you and see how things are going. I love Sai’s frosting beard! So cute!

    I’m glad that you got a new place and better carpeting. :o) Sounds like your Thanksgiving was a success!
    ~~~~
    It was a success! And it’s been nice to be able to relax at home without worrying about Sophie crawling around on nasty carpet!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 sadira December 2, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Congrats on the new digs, and carpet! How wonderful…
    ~~~~
    It is quite nice! And we put up the tree and have been doing the regular decorating stuff (not just Christmas).
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

