A Good Weekend

Wednesday night, after the new carpet was all in *sigh*, we put up the Christmas tree and decorated. While we did that we watch the classic Rudolph. Later that night, as we were getting the boys to bed I over hear this:

Sai: Jay, now do you believe in Santa?
Jay: Yes!

Which I found quite amusing. Jay is catching on to all of the Christmas things this year.

Friday night we were driving around and saw lots of Christmas lights. My sweet little Jay pipes up from the back seat and says, with great excitement, “Look at all the Christmas trick-or-treats!” Sai corrected him and told him that they were Christmas decorations.

Saturday night we went to Temple Square to see the lights. I thought it would be a good time to go…no snow or ice and really not thatcold. We left home about the time I wanted to arrive there. Whoops. There was tons of traffic in downtown SLC so it took quite a while to get to Temple Square. And then parking… We ended up parking in the avenues to the east of Temple Square and walking. Joe had Sophie strapped to him in her carrier, which after this weekend we’ve determined she is too big for it. Jay didn’t want to walk so I ended up with him on my shoulders (thank goodness no ice!!!). There were sooo many people there. More than I can remember from my childhood. I guess a lot of people wanted to take advantage of the good weather as well. We walked around for a while and enjoyed the lights. Then we had to walk back up to the truck. I think Sai was jealous that he wasn’t being held and he kept saying his leg hurt. Jay would only walk for short distances, so I carried him on my shoulders most of the way. It was quite the work out, my calves are still sore! Sophie enjoyed the lights and the cold didn’t seem to bother her. But as soon as we put her back in the car seat… Wow! She cried and cried and cried till she fell asleep. She kept looking up at me while she cried and I felt so guilty, but it’s better to listen to her cry in her car seat than to hold her while we drive.

Joe took some awesome pictures which I’ll have to post later.

2 Responses to “A Good Weekend”


  1. 1 sadira December 8, 2008 at 9:41 am

    How fun! WEll…except for the crying, it’s such torture to listen to little one’s cry and not be able to do anything about it! I’m glad the Christmas spirit is alive and well in your house this year..
    ~~~~
    The Christmas spirit is alive and kicking! YAY!!!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 nikko December 8, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    I’m jealous. The looking at the lights at Temple Square is one of my all time favorite things. I only got to see them the few years I was at BYU.

    Sorry about the crying in the car. I definitely know how that goes!
    ~~~~
    It was nice to not have the snow and ice, but I think Temple Square looks prettier and sparklier when the snow reflects the lights. Maybe someday you’ll be able to bring your kids to see the lights–they would probably love it!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

