Some Sewing

Sophie and I spent Saturday at my mom’s house sewing. My mom, four of my sisters and two of my nieces were there. I made this for Sophie.

Sophie's new dress

And can I say, as much as I love Amy Butler’s fabric, her patterns are not that easy to follow! I kept having to ask my mom, an expert seamstress, questions and she said that the directions were not very clear. And it would be nice to have actual photos of the steps, not just drawings of some of the steps. But anyway… I finished it, except for the bow on the front. I was so frustrated at the end that I was just ready to call it quits. My mom offered to finish it for me but I was so determined to finish it and be done (plus, I wanted Sophie to wear it to church on Sunday).

Here we are early in the day. Not all of us were set up at this point. My parents just added this big room onto their house. My husband calls it the cultural hall (I think some of you will get it).

Sewing 2

Here’s Sophie sitting with Aunt Nanna while I was trying to cut out her dress. She was playing with the scraps from my sister Carrie and me.

Sewing 1

And here’s Sophie sewing with Aunt Tracy.

Sewing 3

My sisters and mom and nieces were great. They tried to distract Sophie so I could sew. She was being a big Mama’s girl. I think she was afraid that I was going to leave her.

Next on my list of things to sew is a diaper bag. It’s from the same book (got it for Christmas). I’m kind of nervous now, after the attempt to sew the dress. Hopefully it will be a lot easier since it’s just a bag.

9 Responses to “Some Sewing”


  1. 1 nikko January 19, 2009 at 7:57 am

    I am so jealous that you can have such a fun sewing get-together with your family! And the “cultural hall” in your parent’s home looks like the perfect place for it.

    The dress looks so cute, even if the instructions were frustrating. I have one Amy Butler book, but haven’t sewn anything from it. Just from looking I can tell she’s super wordy and doesn’t include a lot of photos. Ugh.
    ~~~~
    I’m glad to be able to join the family sewing. They used to do it without me while I lived in Oregon. This is the first one I’ve been able to attend since moving back.

    The dress is cute. And after having made it once and knowing what I would do differently, I think I might try again.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 lera January 19, 2009 at 9:04 am

    The dress is absolutely adorable. I love your personal cultural hall. I wish I had one … 🙂
    ~~~~
    Oh thanks. She did look quite cute in it. The femininity (sp?) of it didn’t stop her from bullying some other 8-month-old when she went to EQ with her dad. She’s really a brat sometimes! But I love her to pieces.

    The cultural hall gets well used. When the whole family is around we fill it up!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Irene January 19, 2009 at 9:40 am

    My sister and I started a small sewing group last summer. We meet once a month and have a blast! We arrange it so that no one has to bring kids that way our chatting is the only thing that gets in the way of our sewing. We love it!
    I agree with your review. AB patterns can be a challenge, but dang- that dress is so cute! Totally worth it.
    ~~~~
    When I lived in Oregon I had a weekly sewing date set up with my friend Rhonda. I really miss it. With out something set up I don’t get much time to sew. 😦 It really is very sad.

    I haven’t given up on AB patterns. We’ll see how things go while making the diaper bag before I give up. 🙂
    -Kathy

  4. 4 Holly Lemke January 19, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Kathy, That looks like fun, and the dress is so cute! On my list of things to do, I want to make some cute dresses for my girls, but I am nervous to try! Now you’ve inspired me, so I’ll have to see what I can do!
    ~~~~
    If you do find any cute, and easy, patterns, pass them along! Sophie is wearing 12-month so she won’t fit the patterns from that book much longer. I want to find other patterns because it is fun to sew for her!
    -Kathy

  5. 5 jamie January 19, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I bought the same book. It has so many cute things. I wish I could have come to sew but john sneezed and his back went out so I had to take care of him poor guy, I took him to the doctor and he got a shot in the bum ha ha. hopefully their is another sewing day soon!
    ~~~~
    I hope you have better luck with the book than I did. Your mom did say that you had tried another Amy Butler pattern and the instructions weren’t very easy to follow. So it’s not just me!

    I can’t believe a sneeze threw his back out. Must have been one heck of a sneeze!
    -Kathy

  6. 6 Tracy January 19, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Sophie looks so cute! I can tell she loves her new dress by her big smile. It was a fun day. Hopefully we can do it again soon.
    ~~~~
    I hope we can do it again too. But I won’t be able to spend the whole day–Joe wasn’t happy that I was gone so long. But it had been such a long time since I’ve had fun sewing. (I’m not counting the blanket I made Dena for Christmas as fun. It was challenging with shattering needles, etc.)
    -Kathy

  7. 7 sadira January 19, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I love her fabrics as well…but I’ve never used a pattern of hers. I hate when the instructions aren’t clear…I just got a wonderful knitting book and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to follow them, but I can! So, I totally get the frustration when you can’t! At least it looks great on this end…

  8. 8 Nann-o January 20, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    It was a fun day. Half of the fun was playing with Sophie! I am glad you finished the dress and hopefully you can make another in much less time.

    Hopefully the next sewing day will not be so long, or Joe will have another fishing day.


  1. 1 It’s Not Just Me « Mommie Marzie Trackback on January 19, 2009 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

