Sorry Sai…It’s Going to Hurt!

The boys and Joe went to the dentist for cleaning (all three cavity-free). The dentist said that Sai needs a frenectomy (removing the muscle that connects the gums to the lip, is thought to cause gaps in the front teeth). The dentist talked about how he has a laser and it will be quick and easy, no cutting and stitches. We made an appointment for Monday morning.

Then today I look it up. All the dental web sites make it sound all nice and easy. So I look it up on Youtube.

OH

MY

!!!

I’m not going to tell him the details. Let Sai go into this kind of clueless. Because it looks like it is going to hurt. For at least a week!! Maybe he won’t go to school that day. Or I’ll take him but have him call if he doesn’t feel well.

Poor kid.

6 Responses to “Sorry Sai…It’s Going to Hurt!”


  1. 1 Irene February 3, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    OMG! I couldn’t watch the whole thing. Poor Sai is right. Will be praying for a quick and painless procedure for the little guy. And yeah, let him skip school, buy legos and take him out for ice cream…
    ~~~~
    I had Joe watch it. He thinks we should tell Sai a little bit about it. But I don’t want to scare him! But yes, I think he’ll deserve a day off of school.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Jason February 4, 2009 at 8:51 am

    HOLY KRAPP! Yeah, I’d give him the day off school as well!
    ~~~~
    I think so. I’m thinking of the call to his school since they always ask if he’s sick. I’ll say, “No, he’s having a frenectomy” and see what they say about that one!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 jamie February 4, 2009 at 9:01 am

    OUCH!! I couldn’t watch the whole thing. It’s probably worse to see than to have it done, hopefully anyway.
    ~~~~
    Yeah, that’s why I don’t want to give him too many details! And the kid doesn’t do liquid or chewable meds. I worry that I’m giving him too much when I break a Tylenol in two and give him half. We’ll see how it goes!
    -Kathy

  4. 4 lera February 4, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Sometimes, as wonderful as the internet is, it’s best not to investigate some things. When I was on bedrest on my last pregnancy, it made me feel worse and hopeless. Hopefully you saw the worst-case scenario and it will be quick and painless. Good luck, Sai.
    ~~~~
    I think him getting the procedure won’t be quite so bad. Today I found a great slide show that a pediatric dentist put together. It explained it well and had amazing before and after pictures. Joe wants to show it to Sai so he can see what’s going to happen. It’s much less graphic than that video.

    And then a coworker sent me a youtube video of a 7-y-o fresh from the dentist all high on happy gas. It’s funny, but sad. Oh Great!
    -Kathy

  5. 5 Nann-O February 4, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Although not painless, it looks less invasive than the old techniques. I will be thinking about Sai that day. Don’t fix favorite meals he can’t eat for a day or two. I still remember what everyone ELSE ate the day of my procedure. We will have to compare scars when he has healed.

  6. 6 Helen February 8, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Ohhhhhhhh! OW! I was actually told by one dentist I needed this done too, when I was 10. Scared sh*tless all weekend till the next appointment, went back for appointment, got another dentist, he siad didn’t need it done! Phew!! Poor thing though.


Leave a Reply

