He’s Too Smart for Me!

Sai 4/4/09

(Sai at CPK Saturday night. Jay took the picture–he’s my budding photographer.) 

Sai was on a roll with his comments to Joe and me over the weekend. I just have to share.

First, we went to the mall on Saturday afternoon. As we walk in we give Sai and Jay the pep talk to be good, etc. He had his moments where he was loud but mostly he was great. Really, he was just being a kid. So we are on the way home and Joe says something to him like “You were being kind of loud, man.” And Sai replies “I’m not a man, I’m a boy.”

Then as we are continuing our trip home he was talking about Easter and wanting an Easter basket. Then he says that he won’t get one because “We don’t have any money because you spend it all.” Ouch, boy! Yes I spend all the money, but on housing, utilities, food, etc.

Then, my favorite, Sunday Joe was changing Sophie’s diaper. Well, we’ve all been a bit sick in our house and poor Sophie has had some symptoms linger on. Joe was changing Sophie’s diaper in the front room and I hear all the guys complaining about how it stinks. Joe says to Sai “You’re poop stinks, too.” And Sai’s zinger back “Yeah. But I poop in the bathroom.”

He’s being very logical in what he says to us and it cracks me up. He’s only 6! He’s going to be a huge smart a** by the time he’s a teenager.

   ***   ***   ***   ***

Sorry for a lack of posting. We’ve been busy and sick. Plus, this yucky weather just doesn’t put me in the mood to post.

3 Responses to “He’s Too Smart for Me!”


  1. 1 Nann-o April 6, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Sai sure has a quick mind. CPK is one of my favorite places – love the chopped salad and the artichoke appetizer. Ate there all the time when I was in LA. Aaahh the days of having someone else clean my bathroom and make the bed!
    ~~~
    Joe said it was his first trip to CPK. The kids loved it. Sophie ate bread and was getting mad at us for breaking it into little pieces instead of letting her stuff her mouth and gag. I had a half salad and it filled me up! (Still recovering, though.)
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Jaacen April 6, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    “But I poop in the bathroom” is CLASSIC!

    I hope you are all feeling well, or at least better. Tell Joe he’d better post some gruesome surgery stories soon.

    Let me know when you guys are ready for another of our prerequisite pizza nights.

    FYI, the best things on the CPK menu are (in no particular order):
    Chinese Chicken Salad
    Thai Crunch Salad
    The Greek Pizza

    mmm, so say we all.
    ~~~~
    Joe has abondoned his blog. You’ll have to catch him in person to get his stories. There are some good ones! He’s funny, though, he says he can handle the sights and smells of surgery but when he helps Jay in the bathroom he gags. Ha ha!

    I love CPK. ALL the salads look so good. It makes it hard to choose just one!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 nikko April 7, 2009 at 5:19 am

    Ah! It only gets better. My 8 year old is very smart-alecky and talks back constantly.

    Sorry you have all been sick. Hope that changes soon!
    ~~~~
    I figured the smart-aleck-ness would just increase as he gets older. Maybe it comes from having sarcastic parents??? 🙂

    I think we are finally all on the mend. YAY! Just in time for more rain. 😦
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

