Walking

We’re trying to take walks as a family every evening.

It’s killing me!

I’m so out of shape! Plus, we live on the side of a mountain. The first half of the walk is up the side of the mountain. The first two blocks are super steep. It takes me a while because I’m pushing Jay in the stroller and the angle my body ends up at makes my calves strain. And Sai is Mr. Energy and runs up the hill. We have to tell him to stop and wait. And then I need a rest. Joe has Sophie on his back in the Kelty and it doesn’t seem to bother him as much as me pushing Jay bothers me. I think tonight I’m going to have Sophie on my back and see if it’s easier for me.

Here we are almost at the top. We’re still going up hill but it’s not as steep.

Walk 1

This is Joe, Sophie, and Sai. We’re almost at the bottom and they were pretty far ahead of me.   But I was trying to navigate the stroller with sleeping Jay.

Walk 3

And here is poor Jay. He fell asleep on the way back home. He couldn’t keep his head up and it kept falling forward. (Into his new Pokemon backpack that he only took off once all day. He put it on backwards for the walk so he could sit in the stroller.) I ended up turning the stroller around and taking him down backwards. He was so asleep that he didn’t wake up until I had him all the way in the house to his bedroom which included going down some stairs. And it took Sophie “kissing” him and yelling in his face for him to wake up. He must have played pretty hard yesterday.

Walk 2

6 Responses to “Walking”


  1. 1 randi May 6, 2009 at 5:27 am

    What a great idea! It is nice to get in shape with the whole family! Keep up the good work!

  2. 2 schiessfamily May 6, 2009 at 10:10 am

    We take walks in the evening to but it always ends up we go to 7-11 for slurpies, I hope the walk counteracts the the sugar 🙂 It so crazy how kids can fall asleep in almost any position.

  3. 3 lera May 6, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Good for you for taking walks together. Those hills look killer.

    I love that he loves his backpack and that he wore it on the front so he could sit in the stroller. Priceless.

  4. 4 sadira May 6, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Keep on truckin’ though…you won’t believe how fast you will get in shape and then think, “well…THAT was easy! Where is there a bigger hill!?!?!”

  5. 5 Jason May 6, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    That’s a great idea.
    Ya’ gotta love kids. I can’t even fall asleep in bed without the “right” pillow!

  6. 6 Joe May 10, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I love that we are going for walks. Keep it up!!!


Leave a Reply

