It’s Been a Year

This week marked an anniversary for me. Tuesday was the one year mark for being a working mom again. It’s been a good year. I really enjoy my job and have fun so the year at work has been a quick year. I always tell Joe that my job is easy. (Shhh… don’t tell my boss I said that! 😉 Ha ha!)

My job is pretty cool. Joe says he can never tell people what it is. So I’ll try to explain it here. My title, according to my business cards, is Business Analyst IT Business Integration Supply Chain-PLM. Basically, I work in IT. I’m a business analyst working specifically with our PLM (Product Life-cycle Management) software. My boss and I take care of configuration changes, requirements for programming changes, testing programming changes, and cleaning up messes people make when they don’t follow process (we end up being the “process police”).

When I started this job the team was in the process of creating an interface between Optiva (the PLM software) and SAP. Wow! What a way to jump in and learn the system. I did all the testing and it was a really good way for me to learn the system.

One thing I really enjoy is that I’ve had to learn some SQL. It’s fun to be able to write queries and updates for the database. I’m surprised at how well I’ve come to know the databases and I like being able to tell someone which table a specific piece of data is stored in.

So that’s a little bit about my job. I really do love it and I work for an awesome company; they really treat their employees well.

1 Response to “It’s Been a Year”


  1. 1 schiessfamily June 22, 2009 at 8:27 am

    From the description it sounds really hard! I am no good at computer stuff, starting a blog was hard enough for me! Happy workiversary 🙂


Leave a Reply

