It’s Vantastic!

With both Joe and me working we are a two car family. For the last few years we’ve had our awesome truck (2002 Dodge Dakota, four door, fits three kids in the back) and an ancient car (1990 Mazda Protege). For the last few months our car has been struggling along. We have had the pay to fix it or put the money towards something else conversation. We decided to put the money towards something else.

Joe first brought up the thought of a minivan back when we lived in Oregon. Slowly the idea has been growing on me. So when we went car shopping we were looking for a minivan.

And look what we bought!

THE Van

It’s a 2006 Dodge Caravan. I must say, that now that we have it, I really dig it! The kids have so much space! All of the back seats can fold up and be stored in the floor of the van. It’s awesome! Sophie gets the second row all to herself and the boys share the third row.

Let’s compare kids squished in the truck and kids spaced out in the van.

truck full Sophie - ahh

I actually really like driving the van. It’s pretty sweet.

As a side note to this, we looked into the Cash for Clunkers program and our nearly 20-year-old car does not qualify according to the government web site? HUH??? But we weren’t looking for a brand new car so I guess it’s all good.

Sai’s school starts next week. NEXT WEEK?!?!?! This summer has flown by. We had such great plans for family activities and we’ve just not done them all. I think the kids had a good summer, though.

This summer the kids have grown a lot.

Sai’s lost six teeth and two adult teeth are growing in. He’s still skinny as ever even though he eats more than I do at most meals. He’s going into second grade!

Jay is starting to thin out and lose all the baby/toddler fat. He’s gotten pretty good at riding his bike.

Sophie has grown up a lot. She’s so big—I’m thinking she’ll wear size 2T this fall/winter. She jabbers like crazy and I can figure out more of her words. Tonight Empire Strikes Back has been on TV and she’s been mesmerized by it and has been dancing to it. Being a Star Wars geek I love it!

Sophie Loves Star Wars

5 Responses to “It’s Vantastic!”


  1. 1 Carrie August 11, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I’m so EXCITED for you! It’s a pretty van. I love the color. You really needed something bigger for your family. Your kids are growing up too fast!

  2. 2 nikko August 12, 2009 at 5:54 am

    I love my van. The space is so nice to have. So excited for you!

  3. 3 Kelly Rich August 12, 2009 at 6:06 am

    A VAN … I never thought I would see the day. But after seeing the kids in the truck I can see why you did it.

    Your babies are getting so big!!!

  4. 4 sadira August 12, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Congrats! Vans get such a bad rap don’t they? But honestly…it looks like a great fit for your family!

  5. 5 jmarz August 25, 2009 at 11:22 am

    “It’s Vantastic”? Oh Brother!


Leave a Reply

