Julie & Julia: Go See It!

Last night I went with two of my sisters to see the movie Julie & Julia. The more I think about this movie the more I love it! It combines food, blogging, and relationships which are three things that I’m much involved in.

As a blogger I felt there were some things said in the movie that were probably more humorous to fellow bloggers than the averge Jane watching the movie. Like fellow bloggers will probably laugh at this quote from my sister’s blog on her 100th post:

One of my favorite posts was in September of 2008 when I wrote this: “I called my husband at work and told him I would do dinner that night. Well, I got on the computer and starting checking out my favorite blogs and before I knew it he was home and no dinner was even close to being started on. He sniffed the air and said “Blog for dinner??” I’m guessing that won’t be the last time that happens.” Well, we have had a lot of blog for dinner a lot since then.

More thoughts after last night:

We went to the late show. 9:55 pm on a work night. I didn’t have issues staying awake for the show. I had issues when I got home. I laid in bed awake for an hour (thinking about the movie and about blogging). Then an hour after I finally fell asleep my kids wake me up. Nice. And my internal clock always wakes me up before my alarm now so luckily I didn’t have to worry about making it to work on time.

I dreamt about cooking and food. I love food.

I have a whole new respect for Julia Child. I think I need to read more about her.

I found the original The Julie/Julia Project blog and I think I’ll be reading it. I also want to read the book by Julie Powell.

Anyway, good movie. I would like to see it again. Maybe that will be one that I will buy.

6 Responses to “Julie & Julia: Go See It!”


  1. 1 Nanna August 12, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    It was a great movie an I loved it. And I have obsessed about food all day!

  2. 2 Irene August 13, 2009 at 12:42 am

    Glad to hear it was good. Was thinking about seeing it myself.
    BTW- Chris swears by her omelet technique!

  3. 3 Kelly Rich August 13, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I am so jealous … I cannot wait to see this show!

  4. 4 sadira August 13, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Thanks for the review! I was so excited to see that they made a movie…my mother told me about her blog back when I started blogging and I thought it was such a great idea…

  5. 5 babyblizz August 13, 2009 at 9:29 am

    The Julia Childs book is now on the best seller list. The movie got mixed reviews but I might check it out. And the “blog for dinner” hysterical!

  6. 6 jamie August 17, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I really want to see it now, maybe it will inspire me to be better with my blog 🙂


Leave a Reply

