Her First Hair Cut

My little Sophie had her first hair cut over the weekend. She has this beautiful curly brown hair (with red and blond highlights). The ends of her hair were to the point that I couldn’t get a comb through them. When I would try to style Sophie’s hair she would get mad at me when I would try to comb out the tangles in the ends.

I didn’t want to be the one to cut Sophie’s hair. I thought that she would get mad at me, I would cut it all crooked, and that she would decide that she could cut her hair as well. I enlisted my mom to cut Sophie’s hair. We had Sophie sit at the counter and my mom cut barely an inch off all around, then evened out the back since one side was longer than the other. I know it was just a small amount but it made Sophie look different!

Not thinking ahead I didn’t bring my camera. So I resorted to using my phone to take some (low quality) pictures. I love that you can see my dad snoozing away in the background.

Sophie hair cut 1

Sophie hair cut 2

Sophie hair cut 3

Sophie hair cut 4

I need to take a good after picture. She just has the cutest little curls! And yesterday I straightened her hair. It was actually really cute but it made Sophie look like a completely different girl.

My countdown to vacation continues. I’ve already packed the boys’ suitcases. Sophie’s clothes are all set aside and waiting for me to decide where to pack them. I’ll do some laundry tonight then start packing my clothes. I just have to make it through a few more days of work and my aunt’s funeral and then it will be vacation time.

2 Responses to “Her First Hair Cut”


  1. 1 Carrie August 11, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Sophie is so cute! I can’t wait to see pictures of her hair all styled. I like how Dad goes to sleep while Mom and the girls all talk. Are we that boring??

  2. 2 Lavada August 12, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Sophie is a doll! If she follows my little ladies, that hair should start growing pretty fast now that she is two.
    When did your mom’s hair go white? That is not how I picture her in my mind.


Leave a Reply

